Sony FX1 importing into FCP

Posted by diverupe 
Sony FX1 importing into FCP
March 07, 2011 12:54AM
Hi guys,
I am new to FCP and have lined up some people to help but the first issue is how to get the footage from camera to Mac.
I have just invested in 2x 1TB LaCie d2 Quadras and thought that a Sony FX1 (HDR-FX1E) would daisy chain into the Mac through one of these.
The camera is FW400 linked and the LaCies are FW800 linked to the Mac. As soon as the camera is turned on, both drives disconnect from the Mac and the Mac tells me they have not been ejected correctly and need to be! Same happens with just 1 LaCie connected.
The Mac is the latest iMac and running Snow Leopard 10.6.6.
I have also got a FW400 to FW800 adaptor to try and connect the camera directly to the Mac but cannot get it to talk to FCP.
Just for info, I used camera and cable in another Mac setup and it worked ok but it was an older setup and went straight into FW400 which I can nolonger do.
Any help is appreciated.
Rupert
Re: Sony FX1 importing into FCP
March 07, 2011 06:31AM
hat is your FCP set up to capture? Does it recognise the camera at all?

March 07, 2011 01:05PM
First lacie drives are the worst to use for video editing. They are poorly made and not reliable at all. Know from experience ($2000 in hd recovery fees). Use Western digital or G-Raid.

Anyways it's fine to daisy thru a hd to capture video but better to connect direct to computer. Less links in the chain for problems.

Now for capturing in fcp. If shot using HDV you have to use the "Easy Setup" presets. And use One of the HDV settings.

1. Select an HDV choice that works with your footage.
2. Now select log and capture. And Now you will have camera control and be able to capture video thru the camera.

Also for the FW cable. It might be better to just a cable that connects to camera on one side like you already know but instead of 400 to 800 adapter. Just get one that is already an FW 800 end.