Need help on FCP 7 color correcting overexposed film!

Posted by jna 
jna
Need help on FCP 7 color correcting overexposed film!
November 06, 2011 08:04PM
Hi everyone,
I need your help on how to get rid of overexposed footage. Is there a way where I can isolate the overexposed footage using the same footage that is already color corrected to change the selected background from bright to dark. I am working on a short long take film, which I find it hard to color correct in certain areas where it is overexposed. I am using final cut pro 7. In addition, I am new to color correcting.

Thanks,

-Jna
Re: Need help on FCP 7 color correcting overexposed film!
November 06, 2011 11:31PM
If it is REALLY over exposed, there isn't much you can do. The detail isn't there to recover. You can try this plugin, the CAPT'S BLOWOUT FIXER. It's free.

[pistolerapost.com]

But really, if it is very over exposed by a lot, there isn't much that can be done. I'm sure a seasoned colorist might have a few tricks they can employ. But being able to way what they are in a forum? Tough...

www.shanerosseditor.com

Listen to THE EDIT BAY Podcast on iTunes
[itunes.apple.com]
November 07, 2011 12:49PM
With underexposed images one can try using blend modes to regain some of the details or at least force some brightnesss into the highlights. This won't come anywhere near to restoring it totally, but might leave you with a "look" you can live with. Overexposed is downright nasty. There's precious little that you can do unless you have an original log type image (like a Redlog .r3d file) to work with that might well contain more definition than you're seeing, but got messed up in the debayering. A common enough error, but can be fixed to a large extent in grade. What exactly is the footage you're working with and what camera was it shot on?
jna
November 09, 2011 12:36AM
Thank you for replying to my forum.