Master Clip

Posted by Johnny 
Master Clip
July 10, 2005 03:54PM
I'm quite new to FCP so sorry for such a simple question-

I imported my master clip that's 20 minutes long.

How do I cut out small parts of it (as in I mark in and mark out a 5 second clip from the master) and want to rename it as a separate clip in my browser.

What is happening now is that I copy and paste the same master clip and then put in my marks and when i try and name it it switches the master as well.

Any help is appreciated!

Thanks,
Johnny
Re: Master Clip
July 10, 2005 05:29PM
here's one way:

mark your in /outs in the viewer,

Modify Menu > Make Subclip, or as you'll see when you get there, Apple U.

a subclip apears in the browser ready for you to give it a name.

easy.

(read up on subclips in the manual)

cheers,
nick

July 10, 2005 07:56PM
You can also use Markers -- press 'm' in the Viewer every time you hit the first frame of a clip you want as a separate piece. Once you've done your entire master clip, select all the markers (which will appear in the Browser under your master clip), then Modify - Make Subclip.

Not a better method than the one above; just different. You have to use Apple-U less frequently with this marker method, and you don't have to put Out points, but you still have to rename the subclips one by one, and it's easier to get careless and make mistakes with the marker method.

Another editor friend of mine (former boss, actually) uses markers to transcribe parts of interviews, quotations etc. by naming the markers after certain quotations. Then when you want to to go to a marker, you can use SHIFT-up/down arrow. That saves you having to deal with subclips, but is more time-consuming when editing.
July 10, 2005 08:39PM
simply adding markers to turn into subs assumes you want *everything* on the master clip, and your breaking down is simply a matter of labeling it.

in outs are more about selecting the choiceest parts of the clip, and discarding others.