Check out my video

Check out my video
December 01, 2007 06:15PM
Hey people, new guy here cool smiley.

I'm a first year film student at Cal State LA. Check out this video I made for one of my projects and tell me what you think.

Re: Check out my video
December 01, 2007 06:24PM
Your video can be half as long and twice as interesting, I think.

Take out 80 per cent of the "sitting under a tree" shots in the beginning. Shave down your skateboarding shots to only the best angles (like the low angle and the pan); I see only three, at most four angles needed, because he's doing the exact same move over and over, so there's nothing new to see. Oh, and avoid those voice-over parts where the microphone pops.

Now turn your structure upside down. Put the ending shots in the beginning and pick one or two of the "sitting/reflective" shots, probably including the profile on his face. Begin your video on the kinetic shots, because it's much more interesting to watch the guy skateboarding than to watch those sitting shots, which wear thin after about four seconds. So have him talking about skateboarding as we also watch the B-roll of him skateboarding. Then wrap it up with his face. Perhaps one last shot (your most impressive shot) at the very end to cap it all off.

And there's no need at all for that huge gap after the voice-over ends. There are no new sound or visual elements to watch. So cut the thing off at about 30 seconds and I think it'll be tighter and better. If you don't want to lose as many of the skateboarding shots as I suggest, try what happens if you cut two of them together, either match-cutting or with repeat action.

www.derekmok.com
December 01, 2007 08:38PM
well I forgot to mention I was working w/ a bad mic in my camera which is why you cant hear him.
This project was primarily about camera position, which is why you see the shot angles. And also the location was a bad spot, but it was the only bench that was skateable LOL.
December 03, 2007 03:29PM