re: Compressor vs. DVDSP encoding?

Posted by Derek Mok 
I'm a newbie self-taught (just barely) in DVD Studio Pro so I'm missing a lot of basic knowledge I'd love to fill in. I was wondering: What is the advantage to using Compressor to generate the source media for the DVDs first, rather than importing the full-quality QuickTime movies and letting DVDSP Build from that? Does it shorten the encoding time, improve playback, prevent problems? I've only done DVDs with about 40-60 minutes of content up to now and haven't really been able to see any problems.

Also, how do I do the iDVD thing -- make DVDSP create the chapter buttons in a new chapter menu rather than me manually doing it myself, then linking each one to the chapter markers in my track?

Any info would be greatly appreciated!
DH
May 13, 2005 12:12PM
Hi all.

Derek, hopefully, you have gone through all of the tutorials that have come with DVDSP. This is probably the first best step you can make if you are teaching yourself.

After this, you will want to start reading at least the first three chapters or so of the DVDSP manual. If this is not helpful, you may then want to get a good turorial book on using DVDSP. Like you, I am self-taught in FCP and DVDSP, and teaching yourself can be very rewarding, if you train correctly.

Here is a great tutorial to using Compressor:

[www.kenstone.net]

Rather than letting DVDSP encode your footage into MPEG2, the advantage of using Compressor is that you have greater control over the compression parameters that govern the quality of the compressed output. Also, it is better to pre-encode your assets into MPEG2 before you import them into DVDSP.