MOTION2 vs. SHAKE4

Posted by Televisionworks 
MOTION2 vs. SHAKE4
May 29, 2006 05:58PM
Hi there,
I am new to Motion2 and I am learning as fast and as much as I can.
As I am going thru the learning curve I 'm starting to see the flows of Motion2.
The software is very powerfull but I am not to happy about the billion sub menues for every task. For some reason Motion2 could be improve drastically in it's interface.
The question I have is:
Does the workings on Shake 4 (overall) better (root tree instead of timeline)
than Motion2 ???
Is it worth paying 3000$ over 300$ ?
Is it the same in general or the compositing features of Shake blows Motion away?
I have not have the chance to work with Shake yet so I like to know your expert opinions!
Thank you!

I must report to my surprise I have crash several times with motion2 and does not seem too stable. Have a Quad G5 4 Gigs of RAM.

Daniel Postan
www.televisionworks.net

Televisionworks
Re: MOTION2 vs. SHAKE4
May 29, 2006 06:25PM
Motion is a motion graphics application. Shake is a visual effects application. While there is some overlap in compositing features, they are different tools for different jobs.
May 29, 2006 07:20PM
That's the thing... sometimes I have a foot in the boat and sometimes in the dock...
Motion is what we have right now but we could develop more compositing business... but as you said there's an overlaping of features so could Shake do all of Motion too or not?
Dan

Televisionworks
May 29, 2006 09:40PM
No, not at all - for example, you can't do text animation in Shake. Really, completely different app for different purpose: primarily visual effects for film, vs. Motion, primarily TV bumpers, intros, DVD menus.
May 30, 2006 11:25AM
I've got both & use both, each overlap slightly in capabilities but they are completely different apps.

Pick up Marco Paolini's Shake book and you can get a free shake trial.

Peter
June 08, 2006 08:21PM